ECTRI & Members stand with Ukraine

On 24 February 2022, the Russian armed forces launched a large-scale invasion of Ukraine. Russia’s military aggression against Ukraine violates international law and the principles of the UN Charter and undermines European and global security and stability. This invasion is resulting in a large number of casualties and the displacement of hundreds of thousands of people.

ECTRI and its Members wish to express their deep solidarity and support to the people and research community from Ukraine.

The ECTRI Members have massively mobilized publishing statements and proposing immediate measures to support Ukrainian people and researchers.

Over the last weeks, ECTRI has encouraged all its Members to provide support to the Ukrainian scientific community in terms of working positions, including temporal ones for invited students, PhD candidates, post-docs, visiting Professors and Researchers.

You can find below the list of ECTRI Members’ statements and actions to-date. This list is being continuously updated with any new measures and is meant to constitute a resources page for those in need. More detailed information on those measures are available HERE (last update 29/04/2022).

  • BME (Hungary): Statement 
  • CDV (Czech Republic): Opening 4 positions: Expert – sustainable mobility plans, Specialist in the field of bridge construction, Researcher – traffic engineer, Researcher in the field of autonomous vehicles
  • CERTH-HIT (Greece): Opening 3 positions for 6 months with the possibility to be elongated
  • CTL-Sapienza (Italy): Statement
  • DEUSTO (Spain): Statement
  • DLR (Germany): Statement; Support services for refugees – Helmholtz – Association of German Research Centres
  • FHG-FVV (Germany): Statement
  • KTI (Hungary): Opening 2 positions (for 12 months) in the Junior Trainee Programme for early stage researchers
  • NTUA (Greece): Statement
  • POLITO (Italy):  Statement; Offering 6-month grant contracts for academic staff and doctoral candidates; collecting requests for hospitality from academic staff and students from Ukraine; other actions to support the student community
  • TØI (Norway): Offering short-term research or research-assistant positions to Ukranian refugees with relevant work experience
  • TTI (Latvia): Statement; Offering 3 fully covered grant contracts to the PhD programme “Telematics and Logistics”
  • UCD (Ireland): Statement; accepting Ukrainian academic as a sanctuary scholar; Irish Government will support Ukrainian students to continue their third level education in Irish universities
  • UL (Slovenia): Statement
  • UNEW (United Kingdom): Statement; Supporting students with links to Ukraine and surrounding countries with emergency funds; The British Academy and the Council for At-Risk Academics (CARA) are to fund research fellowships to enable academics who are at risk to travel to the UK to continue their research.  Priority in the first instance will be given to Ukrainian-based researchers.  
  • UNI EIFFEL (France): Uni Eiffel available to host students and National program PAUSE offering 3 months subsistence (with potential extension); French courses available for students
  • UNI OULU (Finland): Statement
  • UNIZA (Slovakia): Statement
  • UPM (Spain): Statement; Opening 4 researcher positions in transport engineering (mobility, vehicle technology, sustainable transport and intelligent transport)
  • VTT (Finland): Statement
  • VUB (Belgium): Statement

Other solidarity actions provided at EU level: